Pages Menu
TwitterRssFacebook
Categories Menu

Posted by on Jan 3, 2011 in BlaBla, EdsPick1, Featured, South Africa | 6 comments

South African 2011 Public Holidays

2011 Happy New Year! (img src: http://www.freebie-depot.com)It’s Monday, 03 January 2011. Why the hell aren’t you back at work?!

Here’s the official list of public holidays for 2011, courtesy of the good folk over at the South African Government Information Service.

  • Saturday, 01 January: New Year’s Day
  • Monday, 21 March: Human Rights Day
  • Friday, 22 April: Good Friday (Friday before Easter Sunday)
  • Monday, 25 April: Family Day (Monday after Easter Sunday)
  • Wednesday, 27 April: Freedom Day
  • Sunday, 01 May: Workers Day
  • Monday, 02 May: Public Holiday
  • Thursday, 16 June: Youth Day
  • Tuesday, 09 August: National Women’s Day
  • Saturday, 24 September: Heritage Day
  • Friday, 16 December: Day of Reconciliation
  • Sunday, 25 December: Christmas Day
  • Monday, 26 December: Day of Goodwill

Your best bet to maximise some leave days will be through the Easter to Workers Day period. Put a Leave Application in for just 3 days (26, 28 and 29 April) and you’ll get an unbroken run of 11 days off. Do it now before all those anal retentives in Accounting figure it out as well!

That’s all folks. Now back to the salt mines with you all! Happy 2011!

6 Comments

  1. That 11 days off for 3 days leave deal sounds like a great idea. Pity it doesn’t apply here!

  2. It is with interest that I note you are deviating from the univerally accepted Gregorian calendar by changing 27 April 2011 from a Wednesday to a Tuesday. Does this mean that we will have 5 Tuesdays and 3 Wednesdays in April this year? I am confused.

    • Picky, picky, picky. Fixed.

      Now get back to work drone!!

  3. Dear Ed.

    Please could you ok my leave?

    Thanks….

  4. We need to add Wednesday, 18 May to the list of public holidays in South Africa for this year. It’s has officially been declared a public holiday by the Prez to enable as many people as possible to take part in the Local Government Elections scheduled for that day.

  5. Hi No-one seems to be able to answer this question. my annual leave started from the 16th December 2010, a public holiday(Last day at work 15th) and went through to 4th January> The public holidays 25th Dec, 26th Dec and 1st jan landed on a weekend. if my annual leave was 21 consequetive days (15 working days) how many days are still due to me

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. South African 2011 Public Holidays - [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Morena Kokong. Morena Kokong said: RT @GregPillhofer: South African 2011 Public Holidays…

Share your thoughts?